Australia

商业和社会研究

核心信息

开学时间

  • 9月
  • 1月

学制

  • 3个学期

课程概览

该课程将为你升读人文和社会科学学院或思克莱德商学院的学士学位课程做准备。

必修科目

  • 学术英语技巧
  • 个人意识、沟通与就业技能 (PACES)
  • 量性分析法

专业科目

商务专业

  • 会计和金融
  • 经济学
  • 人力资源与组织行为
  • 市场营销和运营
  • 战略和商业环境

商务和社会科学

  • 战略和商业环境
  • 或者

  • 社会科学导论

你需要从下列科目中选择两组:

  • 经济学、人力资源与组织行为
  • 或者

  • 解读21世纪之教育
  • 法律1和2
  • 政治学和国际关系
  • 心理学1和2
学术英语技能旨在通过为您提供英语语言和相关学术技能方面的全面培训,让你在大学本科课程的学习中最大限度地发挥您的学术潜力。这些技能包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将学习把握书面语和口语的精度及广度,以便明确、自信、有效、妥当地在学术环境中运用语言。

将向您介绍微观和宏观经济学分析的原理、概念和模型,提供进一步培养经济分析能力的框架。在整个模块中,您将能够运用其知识库并学习与微观和宏观两个层面的经济问题的数据分析与评估有关的基础技能。

将向您介绍金融学的基础理论,帮助您了解公司环境。同时,您将学习金钱的时间价值、证券估值以及投资决策。此外,您将探索公司融资方法,学习风险-回报原理以及投资组合理论。 

您将了解员工的组织行为、其对组织绩效方面的影响以及组织如何鼓励员工作出有利于实现组织目标的积极行为。

在该模块中,将会请您通过分析来学习与政府 (国家政府以及超国家政府;当选官员及公务员)、立法机关、压力集团及媒体相关的问题。您将了解国内和国际政界的最新发展动向。

该模块是为想要进一步攻读商业和社会科学学位的学生准备的核心模块。该模块旨在让您了解社会科学并让您进一步了解社会生活。您将学到人们如何构成社会以及如何被社会塑造。此外,您还将学习差异和不公是如何在社会中产生的。

法律1

该模块引导您探索英国法律与司法的概念,涉及法律制度、法律渊源、法律架构以及诉讼程序 (民事诉讼和刑事诉讼)。在学习该模块的过程中,您将逐渐熟悉案件审理和通过案件来学习。

法律2

该模块以法律1所学知识和技能为基础,旨在深化您对英国法律的了解。该模块将引导您探索苏格兰法律和司法的概念,涉及法律制度、法律渊源、法律架构以及诉讼程序 (民事诉讼和刑事诉讼) 并且以您熟悉的案件学习为基础 "

您将了解组织为何采用营销手段、营销如何有助于组织成功、哪些营销“工具”可能会导致“不想要的”结果。该模块将从商业世界援引真实范例。在该模块的第二部分,您将学习经营管理,寻找各种方法来满足公司营销活动催生的对产品和服务的需求。

该模块旨在让您熟悉深入思考的重要性,使您对自身技能和能力形成意识,提升对优势和劣势的认知,并培养沟通能力,从而最终提升就业能力,此外还注重管理能力的培养。

该模块将引导您探索国家和宪法以及民主的概念。将向您介绍政党组织的替代形式以及选举制度的替代形式。

心理学1

该模块的主要目标是通过对古典和当代研究的学习向您介绍关键的心理学研究理论方法。如果您以后想要学习心理学以及对自己及周围的世界感到好奇并且希望进一步了解,该模块将帮助您打下基础。

心理学2

该模块的主要目标是以心理学1所学知识和技能为基础,帮助您进一步了解与社会心理学、认知心理学和发展心理学相关知识及其对个人和社会产生的影响。

该模块旨在培养您的统计数据分析技能。您将学习数据分析以及定性数据阐释的统计方法。在该模块中您将使用统计数据分析工具 SPSS® 分析大数据集。了解并能够使用 SPSS® ,这将提高您的就业能力。

学生将会了解组织为何参与战略规划、战略规划及实施流程以及战略决策对组织的影响。将检验外部环境可能对战略实施产生的影响以及组织能够通过何种方式对此类环境施加影响。

如果您想要在思克莱德大学攻读教育学学位,那么该模块是您需要学习的核心模块。如果您想要进一步了解教育学,该模块也是入门课程,为您传授丰富的学科知识。此模块涉及的关键课题包括什么是教育学、教育学的背景以及教育学的成就。

入学要求

年龄要求

  • 入学时学生须年满17岁

英语

  • 雅思*总分5.0(写作4.5),或同等水平

额外的英语语言训练可供选择。我们的英语语言准备课程(ELP)将提升你的英语语言能力达到雅思*5.0的水平。有1或2个学期可选,取决于你当前的雅思水平。

1个学期

  • 开课日期:6月或9月
  • 雅思*:总分4.5(写作4.5)
  • 学期安排:
    2017年6月开学
    第1学期:2017年6月12日-2017年8月25日
    2017年9月开学
    第1学期:2017年9月11日-2017年12月1日
    2018年6月开学
    第1学期:2018年6月11日-2018年8月24日

2个学期

  • 开课日期:6月
  • 雅思*:总分4.0(写作4.0)
  • 学期安排:
    2017年6月开学
    第1学期:2017年6月12日-2017年8月25日
    第2学期:2017年9月11日-2017年12月1日

学历

  • 完成高二,平均成绩达70%,含5门主科;或完成高三,平均成绩达65%,4门(含主科)
*UKVI雅思学术类(Academic IELTS for UKVI)
如果您无需Tier 4签证,或属于其它情况,我们可接受同等英语成绩证明。

更多信息,请访问 入学要求页面

如果您希望了解更多关于课程费用的信息,请访问我们的费用相关网页

同时也欢迎您来了解更过关于各类奖学金的信息

一旦你顺利完成了本科预科课程,并满足了升读标准,你就可以升读到四年制本科学位课程的二年级。升读分数要求取决于你所选的学位课程。

升读选择列表,请访问 英文页面

Students talking in communal area

Business and Social Studies

Key facts

Start dates

  • September
  • January

Course length

  • Three terms

Course overview

This pathway will prepare you for your chosen undergraduate degree at the Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences or Strathclyde Business School.

Core modules

  • Academic English Skills
  • Personal Awareness, Communication and Employability Skills
  • Quantitative Methods

Route modules

Business

  • Accounting and Finance
  • Economics
  • Human Resources and Organisational Behaviour
  • Marketing and Operations
  • Strategy and the Business Environment

Business and Social Sciences

  • Strategy and the Business Environment
    OR
  • Introduction to Social Sciences

You will choose two pairs from the following

  • Economics, Human Resources and Organisational Behaviour
    OR
    Understanding Education in the 21st Century
  • Law 1 & 2
  • Politics & International Relations
  • Psychology 1 & 2

Academic English Skills aims to provide you with thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable you to best achieve your academic potential at University. These skills include the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence, in an academic context.

Students will gain an introduction to the principles, concepts and models of micro and macro-economic analysis providing a framework upon which further economic analysis can be developed. Throughout the module they will be able to apply their knowledge base as well as learn basic skills relating to data analysis and evaluation of economic issues at both the micro and macro level.

You will be introduced to the basic theories of finance and gain an understanding of the corporate environment. You will study the time value of money, the securities’ valuation and the investment decision making. In addition, you will explore corporate financing methods and learn the principles of risk - return and the portfolio theory.

Students will gain an understanding of how people behave in organisations, the impact this can have on aspects of organisational performance and how organisations attempt to encourage positive behaviour focused on achieving organisational goals.

In this module you will be asked to analyse issues associated with Government (national and supra-national; elected official and public servants), legislature, pressure groups and media. You will be expected to keep up to date with developments in national and international political arenas.

This is a core module for students progressing onto Business and Social Sciences degree. This will introduce students to Social Studies and will provide them with an understanding of social lives. Students will gain an understanding of how people make and are being shaped by society. In addition, students will study how differences and inequalities are produced within society.

Law 1 

This module explores concepts of law and of justice in England, with reference to the legal system, sources of law, legal structures and processes (both civil and criminal). During the module students will become familiar with working with cases.

Law 2

This module builds on knowledge and skills acquired in Law 1 to deepen students understanding of law in the UK. The module explores concepts of law and of justice in Scotland, with reference to the legal system, sources of law, legal structures and processes (both civil and criminal) and builds on the students’ familiarity in working with cases.

Students will gain an understanding of why organisations use marketing, how marketing can contribute to the success of an organisation, what the “tools” of marketing are along with the potential consequences of “getting it wrong”. The module will draw on real examples from the world of business. In the second part of the module students will study operations management looking at ways in which the demand for products and services created by a company’s marketing activities can be met.

Personal awareness, communication and employability skills is a module which seeks to familiarise students with the importance of reflection to develop awareness of the student’s own skills and abilities, increase recognition of strengths and weaknesses, and build on communication to ultimately enhance employability with an additional focus on managements skills.

This module explores notions of State and Constitution and of Democracy. You will be introduced to alternative forms of party organisation and alternative forms of electoral system.

Psychology 1

The main goal of this module is to introduce students to key theoretical approaches through the study of classic and contemporary studies. This module will lay the foundation for those who wish to study psychology in the future and for those who are curious and want to gain a better understanding of themselves and the world around them.

Psychology 2

The main aim of this module is to build on the knowledge and skills acquired in Psychology 1 and to develop a further understanding in relation to social, cognitive & developmental psychology and how these impact upon individual and society.

This module aims to develop students’ statistical data analysis skills. The students will learn about statistical techniques for data analysis and interpretation of qualitative data. A statistical data analysis tool SPSS® will be used in this module for analysing big data sets. Knowledge and ability to use SPSS® will enhance the employability skills of our students

Students will gain an understanding of why organisations engage in strategic planning, the strategy planning and implementation processes and the impact that strategic decisions have on an organisation. The potential influence of the external environments on strategy implementation will be examined along with how organisations can attempt to influence these environments.

This is a core module for students progressing onto Education degrees at the University of Strathclyde. It is an introductory class for students who want to understand more about Education and provides a rich seam of disciplinary knowledge. The module covers key topics including what Education is, the context of Education and Education achievement.

Entry requirements

For a complete list of entry requirements, visit our entry requirements page.

Fees

To learn more about course costs visit our fees and payments page.

Scholarship opportunities are available. 

Degree progression

Once you have completed the Undergraduate Foundation Programme, and subject to satisfying the progression criteria, you can proceed to the second year of your four-year degree at the University.

University Programme Award English grade Subject grade
Accounting * BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Business Administration *^ BBA (Hons) 60% 65%
Business Analysis & Technology BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Business Enterprise BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Business Law & Business Enterprise
BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Business Law & Hospitality & Tourism Management BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Business Law & Human Resource Management BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Business Law & Business Analysis & Technology BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Business Law & Marketing BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Economics BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Economics & Business Enterprise BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Economics & Business Law BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Economics & Business Analysis & Technology BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Economics & Finance BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Economics & Human Resource Management BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Economics & Management BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Economics & Marketing BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Economics & Maths & Statistics BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Economics & Psychology BA (Hons) 60%  65% 
Education & Law BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Education & Politics and International Relations BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Education & Psychology BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Education & Sport BA (Hons) 60% 65%
English Law *^ LLB (Hons) 65% 68%
Finance BA (Hons) 65% 65%
Finance & Business Enterprise BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Finance & Business Law BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Finance & Business Analysis & Technology BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Finance & Human Resource Management BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Finance & Management BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Finance & Marketing BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Finance & Maths & Statistics BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Human Resource Management
BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Law & Economics BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Law & Politics & International Relations BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Law & Psychology BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Management BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Marketing BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Philosophy, Politics & Economics * ^ BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Politics & International Relations BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Politics & International Relations & Economics BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Politics & International Relations & Psychology BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Primary Education * ‡ BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Psychology BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Psychology & Economics BA (Hons) 60% 65%
Speech & Language Pathology †*
BSc (Hons) 75% 60%
Sport & Physical Activity *
BSc (Hons) 60% 65%

* Progression to year 1 of this degree.

‡ PVG clearance and interview required for progression.

^ 3-year degree.

† Requires referral. Interview may be required for progression and degree includes work placement.

These degrees and grades are subject to change.