Australia

工程和科学

核心信息

开学时间

  • 9月
  • 1月

学制

  • 3个学期

课程概览

该课程将为你升读工程学院或科学院的学士学位课程做准备。

必修科目

  • 学术英语技能
  • 个人意识、沟通与就业技能 (PACES)
  • 科学和工程学中的数学1 和 2
  • 实验室技能和科学交流

专业科目

你将学习的科目取决于你计划在思克莱德大学本科要学习的专业。

    生物医学科学

    • 生物1和2
    • 化学1和2

    化学和加工工程

    • 化学1和2
    • 应用数学1,并请从下列科目中任选其一 :
      • 应用数学2
      • 物理1 或 物理2

    化学

    • 化学1和2,,并请从下列科目中任选其一 :
      • 应用数学1和2
      • 或者

      • 物理1和2

    计算机

    • 计算机1和2,请从下列科目组合中任选其一:
      • 化学1和2
      • 物理1和2
      • 或者

      • 化学1和物理1

    电子电气工程和计算机及电气系统

    • 计算机1
    • 电子学
    • 物理1和2

    其它工程学科目,和物理学

    • 应用数学1和2
    • 物理1和2

    学术英语技能旨在通过为您提供英语语言和相关学术技能方面的全面培训,让你在大学本科课程的学习中最大限度地发挥您的学术潜力。这些技能包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将学习把握书面语和口语的精度及广度,以便明确、自信、有效、妥当地在学术环境中运用语言。

    该模块旨在让您熟悉深入思考的重要性,使您对自身技能和能力形成意识,提升对优势和劣势的认知,并培养沟通能力,从而最终提升就业能力,此外还注重管理能力的培养。

    应用数学1

    该模块通过培养您的数学运用能力,让您为工程与科学本科学位课程做好准备,具体涉及力学研究、能量以及运动规律。这些关键概念将为您进一步学习工程与科学领域的知识打下坚实的基础。

    应用数学2

    该模块在应用数学1涉及到的知识的基础上,帮助您掌握更多与力学研究、能量以及运动规律有关的知识。您还将熟悉与统计学、圆周运动、转动力学以及动量相关的关键课题。

    生物学1

    该模块为希望学习需要坚实生物学知识基础学位课程的学生而设计。学生将学到生命的基本分子组成、与细胞活性相关的分子结构、细胞内的信息交换、以及新陈代谢的基本原理。该科目既包括理论学习也包括相关实验,能帮助学生为将来学习本科学位课程做好准备。

    生物学2

    该模块以生物学1所涉及的知识为基础,主要目的在于让您基本了解人体主要器官系统的生理学。您将了解身体如何调节以保持健康的体内环境。该模块还将引导您探索因这些系统紊乱所导致的疾病。该模块采用课堂授课和实验室学习的教学方式,其目标在更进一步地于深化您在生物学1中学习到的实验室实践技能和科学沟通能力,以便您能最终掌握学术知识和实践技能以及将理论与实际相结合所需的经验。

    化学1

    如果您希望进一步学习化学,该模块的主要目标是帮助您掌握化学基础知识。您将了解原子结构、周期表、化学键结以及热力学原理。还会介绍与烯烃、炔烃及苯的反应相关的概念。

    化学2

    该模块以化学1所涉及的知识为基础,向您介绍玻恩-哈伯循环的概念以及如何运用它们计算晶格焓。学生将进行实验操作,包括质量测量和体积测量以及滴定,并且意识到化学安全的重要性。

    计算机1

    该模块将向您介绍计算机科学领域的知识。您将获得操作系统、计算机架构以及计算机编程方面的知识。该模块也将向您介绍Java,这是一种高级的计算机编程语言。

    计算机2

    该模块以计算机1所涉及的知识为基础。您将继续学习Java编程语言并且将涉足Java的高级应用以解决现实世界的问题。您还将了解机器语言以及网页开发的HTML语言。

    物理学1

    该模块将帮助您掌握物理学的基础知识。您将学习力学、波以及热力学的精选课程。关键概念将通过现实世界的范例和数据进行证明。

    物理学2

    该模块将帮助您掌握电力和磁力领域的知识。您将学习电荷、电位、电路、磁场、磁感应以及交流电相关知识。关键概念将通过现实世界的范例进行证明。

    科学和工程学中的数学1

    该模块旨在帮助您提高计算能力,其教学内容涉及基础代数、函数、线性方程组和矩阵。还将向您介绍一款常用的数值计算工具MATLAB®,并利用它来强化该模块所涵盖的关键概念。

    科学和工程学中的数学2

    该模块将介绍数列和级数、微分、积分和微分方程式的关键概念。您还将学习 MATLAB® 的高级应用并将运用软件来解决与在本模块学习的关键概念相关的数值问题。

    该模块的主要目标在于为理解模拟电路和数字电路的分析和设计打下坚实的基础。其教学内容将让您对电路理论有良好的数学理解并且帮助您为将来进一步学习电子工程和电气工程本科课程打好基础。

    该模块重点培养STEM课程的学习与就业所需的实践技能。除了向您介绍基础科学实践外,还培养您的沟通和反思能力以及自主安排学习的能力。

    入学要求

    年龄要求

    • 入学时学生须年满17岁

    英语

    • 雅思*总分5.0(写作4.5),或同等水平

    额外的英语语言训练可供选择。我们的英语语言准备课程(ELP)将提升你的英语语言能力达到雅思5.0的水平。有1或2个学期可选,取决于你当前的雅思水平。

    1个学期

    • 开课日期:6月或9月
    • 雅思*:总分4.5(写作4.5)
    • 学期安排:
      2017年6月开学
      第1学期:2017年6月12日-2017年8月25日
      2017年9月开学
      第1学期:2017年9月11日-2017年12月1日
      2018年6月开学
      第1学期:2018年6月11日-2018年8月24日

    2个学期

    • 开课日期:6月
    • 雅思*:总分4.0(写作4.0)
    • 学期安排:
      2017年6月开学
      第1学期:2017年6月12日-2017年8月25日
      第2学期:2017年9月11日-2017年12月1日

    学历

    • 完成高二,平均成绩达70%,含5门主科;或完成高三,平均成绩达65%,4门(含主科)
    *UKVI雅思学术类(Academic IELTS for UKVI)
    如果您无需Tier 4签证,或属于其它情况,我们可接受同等英语成绩证明。

    更多信息,请访问 入学要求页面

    如果您希望了解更多关于课程费用的信息,请访问我们的费用相关网页

    同时也欢迎您来了解更过关于各类奖学金的信息

    一旦你顺利完成了本科预科课程,并满足了升读标准,你就可以升读到四年制本科学位课程的二年级。升读分数要求取决于你所选的学位课程。

    升读选择列表,请访问 英文页面

Engineering students working on an engine

Engineering and Sciences

Key facts

Start dates

  • September
  • January

Course length

  • Three terms

Course overview

This pathway will prepare you for your chosen undergraduate degree at the Faculty of Engineering or Faculty of Science.

Core modules

  • Academic English Skills
  • Personal Awareness, Communication and Employability Skills
  • Maths for Science and Engineering 1 & 2
  • Lab Skills and Scientific Communication

Route modules

The modules you will study depend on what subject you are planning to study at Strathclyde. 

Biomedical Science

  • Biology 1 & 2
  • Chemistry 1 & 2

Chemical & Process Engineering

  • Chemistry 1 & 2
  • Applied Mathematics 1 and one from the following:
    • Applied Mathematics 2
    • Physics 1 or Physics 2

Chemistry

  • Chemistry 1 & 2 and one from the following pairs:
    • Applied Mathematics 1 & 2,
      OR
    • Physics 1 & 2

Computing

  • Computing 1 & 2 and one from the following pairs:
    • Chemistry 1 & 2,
    • Physics 1 & 2
      OR
    • Chemistry 1 & Physics 1

Electronic & Electircal Engineering and Computer & Electronic Systems

  • Computing 1
  • Electronics
  • Physics 1 & 2

All other Engineering subjects, and Physics

  • Applied Mathematics 1 & 2
  • Physics 1 & 2

Academic English Skills aims to provide you with thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable you to best achieve your academic potential at University. These skills include the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence, in an academic context.

Personal awareness, communication and employability skills is a module which seeks to familiarise students with the importance of reflection to develop awareness of the student’s own skills and abilities, increase recognition of strengths and weaknesses, and build on communication to ultimately enhance employability with an additional focus on managements skills.

Applied Mathematics 1 

This module prepares students for first degree programmes in Engineering and Sciences through the development of mathematical applications, with specific regard to the study of forces, energy and the laws of motion. These key concepts will provide a solid foundation for further study in the field of Engineering and Science.

Applied Mathematics 2

This module extends the knowledge developed through the Applied Mathematics 1 module. The students will further enhance their knowledge on the study of forces, energy and the laws of motion. They will also become familiar with essential topics related to Statics, circular motion, rotational dynamics and momentum.

Biology 1

This module is designed for students progressing to degrees that require underpinning knowledge of Biology. Students are introduced to the basic molecular building blocks of life; the structure in relation to the function of living cells; the flow of information through the cell; and the basic principles of metabolism. The module includes both classroom and laboratory based learning and serves as a bridge to further undergraduate study.

Biology 2

This module builds upon the knowledge acquired in Biology 1. The main aim of this module is to provide students with a basic understanding of the physiology of the major organ systems of the human body. Students will understand how the body is regulated to maintain a healthy internal environment. Students will also explore diseases where these systems are disrupted. The module is delivered through classroom and laboratory based learning. This module further aims to deepen practical laboratory and scientific communication skills gained in Biology 1 to ultimately equip students with the academic knowledge and practical skills and experience needed to link theory to reality.

Chemistry 1 

The main aim of this module is to equip students hoping to undertake further study at undergraduate level with elementary knowledge of Chemistry. The students will learn about atomic structure, periodic table, chemical bonding and the principles of thermodynamics. The concepts related to reactions of alkenes, alkynes and benzene will also be introduced.

Chemistry 2

This module builds upon the knowledge acquired in Chemistry 1. The students will be introduced to the concepts of Born-Haber cycles and how to use them in calculations with lattice enthalpy. The students will carry out laboratory operations including mass and volume measurement and titrations with an awareness of the importance of chemical safety.

Computing 1 

You will study basic computer architecture and operating systems and to develop a basic understanding of programming. You will be introduced to the study of Java as a programming language, with this being further developed in the Computing 2 module.

Computing 2

This module builds on skills acquired in Computing 1. Students will continue their study of Java programming language and will cover enhanced applications of Java to real-world problems. Students will also acquire understanding of machine language, and HTML language for web development.

Physics 1 

This module will equip the students with elementary knowledge of Physics. The students will study selected topics in mechanics, waves and thermodynamics. The key concepts will be demonstrated using real-world examples and data.

Physics 2

This module will equip the students with knowledge in the areas of electricity and magnetism. The students will learn about electric charge, electric potential, circuits, magnetic fields, magnetic induction and alternating currents. The key concepts will be demonstrated using real-world examples.

Mathematics for Science and Engineering 1

This module is aimed to enhance numeracy skills. The module will cover basic algebra, functions, systems of linear equations and matrices. Students will also be introduced to MATLAB®, a widely used numerical computing tool, and will make use of it to reinforce the key concepts learned in this module.

Mathematics for Science and Engineering 2

This module will introduce the key concepts of sequences and series, differentiation, integration and differential equations. Students will also learn enhanced applications of MATLAB® and will apply the software to numerical problems related to key concepts learnt during the module.

The primary aim of this module is to develop a firm ground in the understanding of the analysis and design of analogue and digital circuits. The module will provide students with a good mathematical grasp of circuit theory and help provide students destined for further undergraduate study in Electronic and Electrical Engineering.
This module focusses on developing the practical skills required for both study and careers in STEM. Alongside their introduction to basic scientific practices, students will develop communication and reflection skills, and the ability to organise their study.

Entry requirements

For full entry requirements information, please visit entry requirements page.

 

Fees

To learn more about course costs visit our fees and payments page.

Scholarship opportunities are available. 

Degree progression

Once you have completed the Undergraduate Foundation Programme, and subject to satisfying the progression criteria, you can proceed to the second year of your four-year degree at the University.

University Programme Award English grade Subject grade
Aero-Mechanical Engineering BEng (Hons) 60% 65%
Applied Chemistry ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Architectural Studies * ^ BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Biochemistry MSci 60% 65%
Biochemistry and Immunology ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Biochemistry and Microbiology ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Biochemistry and Pharmacology ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Biology with Teaching ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Biomedical Engineering 
BEng (Hons) 60% 65%
Biomedical Science ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Biomolecular Sciences **
BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Chemical Engineering BEng (Hons) 60% 65%
Chemistry ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Chemistry with Drug Discovery ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Chemistry with Forensic Science ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Chemistry with Analytical Chemistry ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Chemistry with Teaching MChem 60% 65%
Civil Engineering BEng(Hons)  60%  65% 
Civil & Environmental Engineering BEng (Hons) 60% 65%
Computer & Electronic Systems BEng (Hons) 60% 65%
Computer Science ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Data Analytics **
BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Electronic & Electrical Engineering BEng (Hons) 60% 65%
Electrical & Mechanical Engineering BEng (Hons) 60% 65%
Forensic and Analytical Chemistry MChem 60% 65%
Immunology BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Immunology and Microbiology ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Immunology and Pharmacology ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Mathematics ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Mathematics & Computer Science ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Mathematics & Physics ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Mathematics with Teaching ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Mathematics, Statistics & Accounting ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Mathematics, Statistics & Business Analysis ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Mathematics, Statistics & Economics ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Mathematics, Statistics & Finance ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Mechanical Engineering BEng (Hons) 60% 65%
Mechanical Engineering with International Study BEng (Hons) 60% 65%
Microbiology ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Naval Architecture & Marine Engineering BEng (Hons) 60% 65%
Naval Architecture with Ocean Engineering BEng (Hons) 60% 65%
Naval Architecture High Performance Marine Vehicles BEng (Hons) 60% 65%
Pharmacology **‡ MSci 60% 65%
Pharmacology and Microbiology ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Pharmacy *** MPharm 60% 65%
Physics ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Physics with Advanced Research MPhys 60% 65%
Physics with Teaching ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Product Design Engineering BEng (Hons) 60% 65%
Product Design & Innovation BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Production Engineering & Management BEng (Hons) 60% 65%
Prosthetics & Orthotics * †
BSc (Hons) 60% 40%
Software Engineering ** BSc (Hons) 60% 65%
Sports Engineering BEng (Hons) 60% 65%

* Progression to year 1 of this degree.

** If you do not achieve the grades required for progression to year 2, you may be able to progress to year one of these degrees.

*** Only 20 places available for the September 2019 intake. Students enter year 2 and study 4 years at the University.

† University interview and pre-approval required before you can receive an offer.

^ Portfolio and pre-approval required before you can receive an offer for the IFY.

‡ Year 2 of a 5 year degree

These degrees and grades are subject to change.