格拉斯哥商业街

在苏格兰生活

体验学生生活

苏格兰是英国的四个构成国之一,友好热情,适合各国学生来此留学。多元文化的人员构成使苏格兰成为一个充满活力和包容性的居住地。我们将帮助您充分了解英国文化,探索苏格兰的学生生活,了解更多典型的苏格兰天气。

在苏格兰生活是什么感觉?

苏格兰位于英国北部。该地有 800 个小岛,其中包括阿伦岛、刘易斯岛、哈里斯岛和斯凯岛。格拉斯哥是英国排名第三的最佳求学城市(QS 最佳学生城市 2022),原因很简单。

苏格兰以壮丽美景、巍峨山脉和历史悠久的城堡而闻名。这里是享受徒步旅行、皮划艇和山地自行车等各种户外活动的好地方。

美丽的苏格兰风景很受电影制作人的欢迎。格伦科的戏剧性山谷出现在詹姆斯邦德的《007:大破天幕杀机》中,历史悠久的格伦芬南高架桥被用于《哈利·波特》系列电影中。

苏格兰全年举办超过 350 场激动人心的活动,如 TRNSMT 音乐节和世界闻名的爱丁堡边缘艺术节。

思克莱德大学位于英国第六大城市格拉斯哥。格拉斯哥有很多博物馆、商店,会举办各类活动,拥有大片绿茵场地。

探索自然风光

苏格兰风景壮丽,海岸线绵延 1 万多英里,是探索自然风光的完美目的地。苏格兰拥有迷人的海滩,如哈里斯岛的斯卡里斯塔海滩。苏格兰还拥有不列颠群岛最高的山峰,本尼维斯山。

在苏格兰不容错过的活动

历史名城

苏格兰拥有众多历史名城,包括首都爱丁堡等。爱丁堡是苏格兰议会、爱丁堡城堡、历史悠久的皇家英里大道和亚瑟王座的所在地,还坐拥众多博物馆、美术馆和文化场所。

格拉斯哥毗邻斯特林、珀斯和海滨城市邓迪等其他历史名城。

苏格兰文化

与英国其他地区相比,苏格兰有着鲜明的文化特征,苏格兰人对此深感自豪。苏格兰在文学、艺术、体育和饮食方面有着悠久的历史。苏格兰甚至拥有自己的语言,这还要追溯到维京人入侵之前。

苏格兰最著名的标志之一是格子呢。这种羊毛面料可编织成不同的颜色和格子图案,代表不同的古代高地部落。苏格兰格子呢通常用于制作长及膝盖的苏格兰短裙,男性在婚礼和其他重要活动中都会穿着这种短裙。

活动和节日

苏格兰各地每年都会举办高地运动会。高地运动会以传统苏格兰文化、体育和音乐为特色。风笛音乐经常在一些全国性活动中演奏,如凯利舞舞会、大学毕业典礼和其他传统苏格兰庆祝活动,例如一月的伯恩斯之夜 (Burns Night)、十一月的圣安德鲁日 (St Andrew’s Day) 和新年前夜的霍格莫内 (Hogmanay) 节。

苏格兰天气

苏格兰春夏秋冬四季分明,在这里生活,您可体验到四季气候变化。

苏格兰位于英国偏北部地区,年降雨量和冬季降雪量较大。夏季平均气温在 14°C 至 22°C 之间。冬季平均气温在 0°C 至 6°C 之间。

学生分享他们对苏格兰天气的感受和第一次看到雪的经历

实用的旅游信息

苏格兰公路、铁路交通发达,设有多座国际机场,在苏格兰和英国其他地区旅行快捷方便。

格拉斯哥中央火车站是格拉斯哥的主干线车站。从这里,您可前往英国国家铁路网覆盖的其他城市、城镇和村庄。您可在车站询问学生折扣信息。要了解更多信息,请访问 nationalrail.co.ukthetrainline.com

多趟大巴车往返于城市和热门旅游目的地,如爱丁堡城堡及因弗内斯著名景点尼斯湖。请访问 National ExpressMegabus 网站了解更多信息。

格拉斯哥国际机场是苏格兰最大的国际机场之一。该机场提供飞往欧洲和世界各地的定期航班。从格拉斯哥出发,仅需一个多小时即可飞抵伦敦。

格拉斯哥市公交车发车频繁、票价便宜,适合在市内和附近乡镇旅行搭乘。公交客运服务由 First Group 和 SPT(思克莱德大学交通合作伙伴)运营。格拉斯哥拥有地铁。游客们称它为“发条橙 (Clockwork Orange)”,当地人则称其为“地铁 (Subway)”。

格拉斯哥拥有超过 300 公里的自行车道,数百个自行车架遍布全市。如果选择步行,您会欣赏到更多美丽的建筑,体验到更多充满活力的文化。

Shenchi (Alice),来自中国

我喜欢去公园,比如格拉斯哥公园,那里有桥和天鹅,我还喜欢购物。我觉得布坎南街非常棒。

我最喜欢格拉斯哥的凯利舞,以及这里的建筑和风格。

来自中国的 Shenchi (Alice)
学习了商业和社会研究本科预科课程,
并获得金融(荣誉)文学学士学位

更多学生故事

International Study Centre

Living in Scotland

Experience student life

The UK is a friendly and welcoming place to study as an international student. The multicultural population makes it a vibrant and inclusive place to live. We’ll help you to make the most of UK culture, discover what student life in Scotland is like and find out more about typical Scottish weather.

What is it like to live in Scotland?

Scotland is part of the UK. It is located in the northern part of Great Britain. The country has 800 small islands including Arran, Lewis, Harris and Skye. Scotland was voted the Most Beautiful Country in the World by Rough Guides in 2017, and it’s easy to see why.

The country is famous for its breathtaking landscapes, stunning mountains and historic castles. It is the perfect place to enjoy a wide range of outdoor activities, including hiking, kayaking and mountain biking.

The beautiful Scottish scenery is popular with filmmakers. The dramatic valley of Glen Coe was featured in James Bond’s Skyfall, and the historic Glenfinnan Viaduct was used in the Harry Potter films.

Scotland hosts exciting events all year round, including more than 350 festivals like TRNSMT Music Festival and the world-famous Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

The University of Strathclyde is in Glasgow, the sixth largest city in the UK. It has plenty of museums, shops, events and green spaces to enjoy. 

Things to do in Scotland

Historic cities

Scotland has many historic cities, including its capital city, Edinburgh. It is home to the Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh Castle, the historic Royal Mile and Arthur’s Seat, as well many museums, galleries and cultural venues.

Other historic cities within easy reach of Glasgow include Stirling, Perth and the coastal town of Dundee.

Scottish culture

Although it is part of the UK, Scotland has a distinct cultural identity, which Scottish people are very proud of. The country has a long history of literature, art, sport and food. It even has its own languages, which pre-date the Viking invasion.

One of Scotland’s most famous icons is tartan. This woollen fabric is woven in different colours and checked patterns that are associated with ancient Highland clans. Tartan is typically worn as knee-length skirts called kilts, which are worn by men to weddings and other important events.

The Highland Games are annual events held across Scotland. They feature traditional Scottish culture, sports and music. Bagpipe music is often played at national events such as Ceilidhs (dances), university graduation ceremonies, and other traditional Scottish celebrations such as Burns Night in January, St Andrew’s Day in November and Hogmanay on New Year’s Eve.

What about the weather?

When you’re living abroad in Scotland, you’ll notice differences in the weather between each of the four seasons: spring, summer, autumn, winter.

As Scotland is in the more northerly part of the UK, it has more annual rainfall and snow in winter. Average temperatures in summer range from 14°C to 22°C. Average temperatures in winter range from 0°C to 6°C.

Students share their experience of Scottish weather and seeing snow for the first time

Practical travel information

Travelling around Scotland and the rest of the UK is convenient and simple with excellent road and rail networks, and international airports. 

Glasgow Central is the city’s major mainline rail station. It connects you to the other cities, towns and villages within the UK’s national rail network. Ask at the station about student discounts. For more information, visit nationalrail.co.uk or thetrainline.com

Regular coach services travel between cities and to popular tourist destinations, such as Edinburgh Castle or the famous Loch Ness in Inverness. Visit the National Express and Megabus websites for more information.

Glasgow International Airport is one of the largest international airports in Scotland. It offers regular flights to Europe and across the world. You can fly from Glasgow to London in just over an hour. 

Glasgow has frequent, inexpensive buses that make it easy to travel around the city and to local towns. Services are operated by First Group and SPT (Strathclyde Partnership for Transport). Glasgow has an underground rail service. Tourists know it as the ‘Clockwork Orange’, and locals call it ‘the Subway’.

Glasgow has over 300 kilometres of cycle lanes and hundreds of cycle racks throughout the city. If you walk, you get to see more of the beautiful architecture and experience more of its vibrant culture.

Explore the great outdoors

Stunning landscapes and more than 10,000 miles of coastline make Scotland a perfect destination for exploring the great outdoors. Scotland has amazing beaches such as Scarista Beach on the Isle of Harris. It also has the highest mountain in the British Isles, Ben Nevis.

I like to go to the park, like Glasgow Green with the bridge and the swans, and shopping. I think Buchannan Street is a very nice place.

"My favourite thing in Glasgow is Ceilidh dances, and the buildings and the style here.’"

Shenchi (Alice) from China Studied Undergraduate Foundation Programme in
Business and Social Studies
Progressed to BA (Hons) Finance

More student stories