思克莱德大学的学生们一起学习

商业和社会科学类硕士预科项目

课程概览

此两学期制衔接课程之前被称为“商业和社会研究”,将帮助您做好准备,以顺利攻读思克莱德商学院或者人文和社会科学学院的所选研究生学位。

您将学习一系列核心课程,专注学习对您所选升读学位最为有用的一般技能和学术领域。在您成功完成硕士预科项目并达到成绩要求之后,您可以于 9 月份升读思克莱德大学。

此课程适合哪些人?

如果您在您的国家完成了本科学位,并希望继续在英国攻读硕士学位,我们的项目便可为您提供帮助。在短短两个学期内,您即可获得所需的学术、学习和语言技能,以便在英国大学攻读商业或社会科学类硕士学位。

为什么要学习此项目?

我们精心设计了项目,根据您所选择的升读学位,提供相应的专业核心课程和专业方向课程。您将学习对攻读硕士学位有用的技能,比如研究技能和沟通技能,以及与您升读目标相关的可选专业方向课程。我们的“学术英语技能”课程确保您的语言能力达到在英国大学攻读研究生所需的要求。

学习内容

核心课程

学术英语技能课程旨在提供语言和相关学术技能方面的全面培训,以便国际学生在大学最大限度地发挥其学术潜力。我们的学术英语课程由英国政府机构 UK ENIC 批准,该机构负责在全球范围内提供有关资格与技能的信息和专家意见。

本课程将培养您的意识和能力,发展一系列语言相关的学术技能,这些技能包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将在学术环境下,明确、自信地学习有效且适当使用语言所需要具备的准确、适度范围的书面和口头语言。

除了课程学习,您还能通过在线学习平台学习,该平台为您提供一系列专门设计的任务和活动,以在课堂外培养和拓展您的语言和学术技能,并让您更好地掌控学习进度。

“批判性阅读和应用学术写作技巧”课程旨在培养硕士预科学生的批判性阅读技能,并帮助其在自己的学术文章中了解并遵守学术写作的规范。它是“学术英语技能”课程的补充,并支持研究方法中教授的一部分元素。

本课程的主要目的是为学生提供必要的数学技能和知识,助力他们在思克莱德大学获得所选商业和社会科学类专业的硕士学位。本课程不仅提供数学及其应用的基础知识,还将为学生提供更广泛的相关学科应用背景。完成本课程后,学生将能够理解数学在其所选专业方向中的重要性和相应应用。

本课程的目标是培养学生了解自身技能和能力的意识、增强识别自身优势和弱势的能力、学习沟通技巧,最终提升自身的就业竞争力。Career Ahead 软件用于鼓励学生参加本学习之旅。还将为学生介绍当前的领导力理论,帮助他们发现自身在团队中的角色、管理特质和领导风格。还将向学生教授有用的实践技能,例如定制个人简历、撰写个人自述以及制定个人发展计划。

本课程专门为我们的硕士预科学生设计,通过这一学习机会,他们可对研究语言、伦理和方法进行批判性探索,建立并提升对研究的理解。本课程不仅可帮助学生为攻读斯思克莱德大学的硕士学位做好准备,而且还将授予长远技能,助力其未来职业生涯的发展。本课程介绍了研究语言、道德原则和挑战,以及定量、定性和结合性方法中研究过程的要素。学生将利用这些理论基础,开启对其研究领域或兴趣相关文献的批判性阅览,并确定研究结果如何有助于形成对其学术论文的理解。

本课程是“研究方法”课程的延续,以供学生运用他们学到的技巧。本课程的目的是进一步培养其研究方法和技术的技能,以及撰写实质性学术作品的能力。学生将学习到与其专业领域相关的各种资源,并将考虑用于理解和解释定性和定量数据的技术应用和限制。虽然课程向学生介绍实证研究的方法和技巧,但他们的项目可能基于二级数据来源。

专业方向课程

您将要攻读的课程取决于您计划在思克莱德大学学习的科目。

本课程的主要目的是为学生提供必要的计量经济学技能和知识,助力他们在思克莱德大学获得所选金融学专业的硕士学位。本课程提供概率论和基于线性回归模型的计量经济学基础知识。课程结束后,学生将能够使用主流数据和各种软件程序运行简单的回归,并解释基本的回归结果。

本课程旨在让学生深入了解全球商业领域中的基本概念,以便让学生对商业环境和其中包含的内容有基本认识及了解。在本课程中,学生将探索公司企业和非公司企业模式的基本概念、组织结构、行业类别、供应链和市场参与者、商业惯例、战略管理和财务规划。学生以此为坚实基础,进而升读思克莱德大学商科相关硕士学位。

本课程以全球性问题为重点,侧重于当代社会科学的研究。学生就包括教育、贫困差距和国际人权等一系列当代问题进行互动学习。课程将详细的探讨这些概念、培养对相关政策和立法的理解、提供以此类问题为背景讨论和辩论的机会,并帮助学生在整个学习过程中扩展批判性评估和评价技能。

这是升读人文科学或社会科学学位学生的专业方向选择之一。目的是让他们深入了解相关领域的全球视角,以帮助其完成独立的研究课题,并丰富他们的专业词汇。

升学

如果您已经完成硕士预科项目并且满足升读标准,您可以继续在大学攻读研究生学位。(请参见下方的折叠面板,了解关于入读和升读条件的其他信息。)

请注意

获得事先批准后才能收到录取通知书

  • 自闭症理学硕士
  • 商业翻译与口译理学硕士/研究生文凭
  • 金融学理学硕士
  • 金融和管理理学硕士
  • 金融技术理学硕士
  • 国际会计和金融学理学硕士
  • 国际银行与金融学理学硕士
  • 投资与金融学理学硕士
  • 初等教育文凭 (PGDE)
  • 计量金融学理学硕士

需要进行 PGDE 面试以及核实预先披露的信息

  • 初等教育文凭 (PGDE)

除了英语,学生必须精通以下一种语言:中文、德语、西班牙语、意大利语或法语。申请者完成笔试和口语能力测验

  • 商业翻译与口译理学硕士/研究生文凭

学生必须有相关学位或者拥有与自闭症患者生活或工作的直接经验。提供一份声明文件,详细列明申请所需的经验

  • 自闭症理学硕士

学生的经济学课程以及商业数学和科学课程的成绩需要达到 65% 且总成绩达到 60%,方可入读大学

  • 金融学理学硕士
  • 金融和管理理学硕士
  • 金融技术理学硕士
  • 国际会计和金融学理学硕士
  • 国际银行与金融学理学硕士
  • 投资与金融学理学硕士
  • 计量金融学理学硕士

International Study Centre

Strathclyde students studying together

Pre-Masters Programme in Business and Social Sciences

Course overview

Formerly known as Business and Social Studies, this two-terms pathway will prepare you for your chosen postgraduate degree at the Strathclyde Business School or Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences.

You will study core modules, focusing on general skills and academic areas most useful to your chosen progression degree.  After you have successfully completed the Pre-Masters Programme and achieved the required grades, you can progress to Strathclyde in September.

Who is this course for?

If you’ve studied an undergraduate degree in your home country and want to continue with your Masters in the UK, our programme can help. In just two terms, you’ll develop the academic, study and language skills to study a Masters degree in business or social sciences at a UK university.

Why study this programme?

We’ve designed our programme to offer a mix of specialist core modules and route modules based on your chosen progression degree. You’ll study useful skills for your Masters degree, such as research skills and communication, as well as an optional route module related to your progression goals. Our Academic English Skills module ensures your language ability is suited to postgraduate study at a UK university.

What you will study

Core modules

Academic English Skills aims to provide thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable international students to best achieve their academic potential at university. Our Academic English programme is validated by UK ENIC, the UK government agency responsible for providing information and expert opinion on qualifications and skills worldwide.

You will develop awareness and competency in a range of language-related academic skills, including the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence in an academic context.

Alongside your classes, your studies will be supported by an online learning platform, providing you with a range of tasks and activities specifically designed to develop and extend your language and academic skills outside the classroom and to give you more control over your own learning.

The Critical Reading and Applied Academic Writing Skills module aims to develop Pre-Master’s students’ critical reading skills and allow them to identify and comply with the norms of academic writing in their own written work. It complements the Academic English Skills module and supports elements taught as part of Research Methods.

The main aim of this course is to equip the students with essential mathematical skills and knowledge for their chosen masters’ degree in business and social sciences at the University of Strathclyde. The course not only provides fundamental knowledge of mathematics and its application, but will also give the students a much broader context of applications in related disciplines. After completion of this course, the students will be able to appreciate the importance and applications of mathematics in their chosen pathway.

This module seeks to develop awareness of the student’s own skills and abilities, increase recognition of their strengths and weaknesses, build communication skills, and ultimately enhance employability. Career Ahead software is used to prompt students on this learning journey. Students are also familiarised with current theories of leadership, helping them to identify their preferred team role, management ethos and leadership style. Practical skills such as creating bespoke CVs, personal statements, and Personal Development Plans will also be covered.

This course is specifically designed to provide an opportunity for our Pre-Masters students to establish and advance their understanding of research through critical exploration of research language, ethics, and approaches. This course will not only prepare our students for their Masters degrees at the University of Strathclyde, but will also teach them life-long skills that they can tap on rest of their professional life. The course introduces the language of research, ethical principles and challenges, and the elements of the research process within quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods approaches. Students will use these theoretical underpinnings to begin to critically review literature relevant to their field or interests and determine how research findings are useful in forming their understanding of their work.

This course is continuation of the course titled ‘research methods’ and the students will apply the techniques that they have learned. The aim of this module is to further develop skills in the methods and techniques of research and the ability to write a substantive piece of academic work. Students will be introduced to a variety of sources relevant to their specialist subject area and will consider the application and limitation of techniques for understanding and interpreting qualitative and quantitative data. Although students will be introduced to the methods and techniques of empirical research, their project is likely to be based on secondary data sources.

Route modules

The module you will study depends on what subject you are planning to study at Strathclyde.

This module aims to provide students with an insight into the fundamental concepts found within the global business arena, in order to provide students with a foundation of knowledge and understanding of the Business Environment and what it might encompass. Students will explore the fundamental concepts of incorporated and unincorporated business models, Organisational Structures, Industry Sectors, Supply Chains & Market Players, Business Practices, Strategic Management, and Financial Planning. Students thus consolidate a strong foundation from which to progress on to Masters’ level study in a Business related subject at the University of Strathclyde.

This module focuses on the study of contemporary Social Sciences with a focus on global issues. Students will interact with a range of contemporary issues, including education, poverty gap and international human rights. There will be an opportunity to explore the concepts in detail, develop understanding of relevant policies and legislation, discuss and debate issues in these contexts as well as extending critical appraisal and evaluation skills throughout the learning journey.

This is a pathway option for students progressing on to Humanities or Social Science degrees. The intention is to for them to gain insight into global perspectives in relevant areas to aid them in their independent research topic as well as enrich their subject specific vocabulary.

Top 100 in the world for Hospitality & Leisure Management

QS World University Rankings by Subject 2023

Top 25 in the world for Library & Information Management

QS World University Rankings by Subject 2023

Need to improve your IELTS score?

We offer additional English language programmes that are designed to raise your IELTS to the required level.

English Language Preparation Online for two-term Pre-Masters

  • 6 weeks: February or June
  • 10 weeks: May or September​​
  • 16 weeks: April or July

Alternatively, if you're looking to study 2 terms Pre-Masters Programme and need to improve your IELTS score, you can take an on-campus English language course first starting in September 2024 or January 2025.

Explore English programmes

Degree progression

Once you have completed the Pre-Masters Programme, and subject to satisfying the progression criteria, you can proceed to your postgraduate degree at the University. (Please see the accordion below for additional information on entry and progression conditions.)

Degree Programme NameAwardOverall GradeEnglish Grade
No Results

Please note

Pre-approval required before you can receive an offer

  • Autism MSc
  • Business Translation and Interpreting MSc / PG Dip
  • Finance MSc
  • Finance and Management MSc
  • Financial Technology MSc
  • International Accounting & Finance MSc
  • International Banking & Finance MSc
  • Investment & Finance MSc
  • Primary Education PGDE
  • Quantitative Finance MSc

PGDE interview and Advanced disclosure check required

  • Primary Education PGDE
  • Secondary Education PGDE

In addition to English, students must be proficient in one of the following languages: Chinese, German, Spanish, Italian or French. Applicants complete written and oral aptitude tests

  • Business Translation and Interpreting MSc / PG Dip

Students must have relevant degree or direct experience living or working with individuals on the autism spectrum. Statement detailing experience required on application

  • Autism MSc

Students will need to achieve 65% for the Maths for Business and Social Sciences module as well as 65% for the Research Methods and Data Analysis module, and 60% overall for progression to the University

  • Finance MSc
  • Finance and Management MSc
  • Financial Technology MSc
  • International Accounting & Finance MSc
  • International Banking & Finance MSc
  • Investment & Finance MSc
  • Quantitative Finance MSc

Pre-approval required before progression. These are conversion courses in the Science faculty. They are accessible from both the Business and Social Sciences, and the Engineering and Science Pre-Masters Programme

  • Artificial Intelligence & Applications MSc
  • Digital Heath Systems MSc
  • Information and Library Studies MSc
  • Information Management MSc
  • Software Development MSc

A progressed student's story

Join us

Our Student Enrolment Advisors are available to answer any questions you may have and help you with your application. We can't wait to meet you!